Skip to main content

HomeGalloway Lifetime Achievement Award


Joe Galloway Lifetime
Achievement Award


2019 Deadline extended to Feb. 28, 2020.

The Joe Galloway Lifetime Achievement Award is an annual award intended to recognize a lifetime of sustained support to the U.S. Army – generally – and to the Army public affairs community – specifically – through extraordinary contributions to the practice and profession of public relations. A qualified candidate must have a minimum of 20 years experience in communications and public affairs. The award is presented to a practitioner whose accomplishments have made a major contribution to the profession of communications in support of the Army and the Army public affairs community. The candidate may have served in the federal service, active duty, Reserve or National Guard or the civilian sector and is now retired.

This distinctive award was established in 2010 and is only given to one recipient each year.


2018 – Col. (retired) Larry Icenogle, a retired colonel and Army civilian employee with nearly 50 years of service 
2018 – Don Carr, retired Army Public Affairs NCO and civilian employee PAO of Fort Belvoir
2017 – Maj. Gen. Mari K. Eder (retired), former Deputy Chief of Public Affairs, lecturer & mentor
2016 – Sgt. Maj. Larry Whitley, Public Affairs sergeant major
2015 – Jean Offutt, former PAO of Fort Bliss
2014 – Clark Taylor, founder of Soldiers Radio and TV
2012 – Col. (retired) Donald P. Kirchoffner, APR, Fellow PRSA
2011 – Jerry Voros, former CEO of Ketchum, supported first PAO training with industry
2010 – Joseph E. Galloway, journalist and author


The Galloway Award is named after Joseph E. “Joe” Galloway, a war correspondent and reporter on military and national security issues. He is the only civilian to whom the U.S. Army awarded the Bronze Star for valor for rescuing wounded soldiers under fire during the Vietnam War. He is co-author of “We Were Soldiers Once, – And Young.” 

The award was established by the Army Public Affairs Association to recognize career-long support to the Army public affairs community.


The Army Public Affairs Association thanks ScoutComms for their sponsorship of the Galloway Lifetime Achievement Award
ScoutComms Logo